Home - Special Libraries Association Transportation Division
What's NewAbout the SLA Transportation DivisionOfficersBylaws and ProceduresProgramsPublications and ReviewsAdditional ResourcesDivision SponsorsArchivesSLA Transportation Division Contacts

About the Transportation Division

More than 200 librarians from universities, corporations and regional, state, and provincial and national government organizations make up the Transportation Division. The Division is international in scope and interests.

The Transportation Division promotes the exchange of knowledge and information among individuals and organizations interested in the development, control and use of information resources in transportation both in general or in one of its many subdivisions; these include air, highway, rail, urban and water transport, and multimodal transportation.

Since its founding in 1943, the Division has been actively involved with transportation issues and research. Its activities have involved publishing, presenting innovative and timely programs and lobbying for better access to transportation literature.

A major benefit of the Transportation Division is the opportunity to participate in programs, discussions and meetings with other librarians interested in transportation. We work together to improve the transportation information environment.

Member benefits include the Transportation Division Bulletin, membership directory, programs at the SLA Annual Meeting and the opportunity to network with fellow transportation librarians at formal and informal meetings.


Leadership of the Division is provided by the Executive Board, which includes the Chair, Chair-elect, Secretary-Treasurer and Past Chair.

Recent Chairs of the Division are:

  • 2007
    Matt Barrett, Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transit Authority, Policy Research & Library Services

  • 2005/06
    Bob Sweet, University of Michigan, Transportation Research Institute

  • 2004/05
    Betty Lou Hicks, Hanson Professional Services Inc.

  • 2003/04
    Shaun Moran, Transport Canada
  • 2002/03
    Roberto Sarmiento, Northwestern University

  • 2001/02
    Mary Ellen Tucker, University of North Carolina

  • 2000/01
    Laura L. Whayne, University of Kentucky


Participation in committees provides an excellent way to become involved in Division activities. Committees include: By-laws, Fundraising, Government Relations, International Issues, Membership, Networking, Nominating and Special Projects.


Join SLA and the Transportation Division.

Come to Division programs, meetings and open houses.

Volunteer for a committee assignment.

Subscribe to the TRANLIB discussion list.

Contact our current Division Membership Chair:
Ruth Letson, Tennessee Department of Transportation, phone 612-741-2330
email Ruth.Letson@state.tn.us